Resources›Comparisons
The comparisons, and one table.
Every cell below is a published, verifiable fact as of August 2026 – where a vendor does not publish something, the cell says so. Each linked comparison states plainly where the other tool is stronger.
| Runs in | Imports MS Project | Register import | Calibration provenance | Cost risk | Deployment | Published pricing | Trial without contact | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Epoch SRA | Excel add-in (Microsoft 365) | Yes – MS Project XML: all four link types (FS/SS/FF/SF) with lags, plus a report naming every untranslated construct | Yes – from any Excel range, column-mapped | Yes – priors field-calibrated against historical program actuals; every percentile labelled | Yes – since v1.1.0 (Aug 2026): cost P50/P80, per-risk cost contribution, and a delay price, derived from the schedule simulation through your rates; not field-calibrated | Excel add-in; results are ordinary sheets in your workbook | €119/mo · €990/yr · €1,300 perpetual + €350/yr | Yes – 7-day full-featured trial in the add-in; no signup, no card |
| Full Monte | Add-in to Microsoft Project (2010–2024); separate Primavera P6 edition | Native – operates directly on the schedule open in MS Project / P6 | Risk register included (MSP edition); Excel register import not documented | No claim published | Yes – integrated cost + schedule via the resource-loaded MS Project / P6 schedule; JCL cost/schedule scatter | Desktop add-in, register in a local file; no vendor data-locality statement published | $1,195 perpetual incl. first-year maintenance; $299/yr renewal | 7-day full trial after a registration form; immediate download |
| Primavera Risk Analysis | Standalone Windows desktop application (last documented desktop version 8.7) | P6 database/XER documented; MS Project import not stated on current Oracle pages | Risk register included; Excel import not published for PRA | No claim published | Yes – marketed as integrating cost and schedule risk management | Desktop application; no vendor data-locality statement published | Not published – quote-based | No public trial page found; delivery requires an Oracle account |
| Safran Risk | Windows desktop client + SQL Server database (local, server, or Azure) | Yes – MS Project XML (plus P6 XER) | Yes – register import/export via Excel | No claim published (points to using your own lessons-learned data) | Yes – integrated cost-schedule analysis; costs connect to activities and vary with simulated durations | Client-side computation; database may be shared/Azure; vendor license server unless offline activation is used | Not published – quote-based | 30-day trial delivered by email after a form |
| Lumivero @RISK SRA | Excel add-in (Windows): general-purpose Monte Carlo + the ScheduleRiskAnalysis toolset (DecisionTools Suite) | Yes – the SRA toolset imports Microsoft Project and Primavera P6 schedules into Excel (corrected 2026-08-06) | Registers built in your spreadsheet; no dedicated register-import feature claimed | No claim published (fitting to your own data offered) | Yes – cost/estimate models are native territory; schedule risk via the SRA toolset with probabilistic Gantt views | Computes in desktop Excel (Windows); no vendor data-locality or activation statement published | Not published – quote-based (shop shows subscription tiers without prices) | 15-day trial after registration; no credit card, per vendor |
| Deltek Acumen Risk | Windows desktop application (per Deltek documentation) | Yes – reads .MPP directly or via installed MS Project; also P6, Open Plan, others | Not published (automated register advertised; Excel import not stated) | No claim published | Yes – schedule and cost uncertainty in a single Monte Carlo simulation, per Deltek pages | Not published (desktop application; Touchstone submittal portal is hosted) | Not published – quote-based | No – trial requested through a lead form |
| RiskyProject | Standalone Windows desktop app; also MS Project add-in toolbar | Yes – add-in, or MPX / MS Project XML import | Yes – from Excel, with column mapping | No claim published | Yes – integrated schedule and cost risk analysis; fixed and variable cost per task | Desktop computation; no vendor statement on data locality published | $685/yr Lite · $979/yr Professional · Enterprise quote-based | Yes – 30-day trial after a short self-serve form |
Published, verifiable facts only, as of August 2026; "not published" means the vendor does not state the fact publicly, not that the answer is no. Corrections welcome: contact@epochsra.com.
Deciding between the two big names? Choosing between Epoch SRA and Primavera Risk Analysis answers it in two lists.
The comparisons
Epoch SRA vs Full Monte: an honest comparison
Where Barbecana's MSP-native tool is stronger, where we are, and the one-afternoon test.
Epoch SRA vs Primavera Risk Analysis: an honest comparison
The enterprise incumbent vs a PM-operated Excel add-in – different bets on who does the work.
Epoch SRA vs Safran Risk: an honest comparison
A risk platform for organizations vs a sharp tool for the person who owns the date.
Epoch SRA vs @RISK ScheduleRiskAnalysis: an honest comparison
SRA imports MSP/P6 into Excel – real capability, credited. The differences are provenance, fidelity, and how you buy it.
Epoch SRA vs Deltek Acumen Risk: an honest comparison
A governance suite for scheduling departments vs an afternoon tool for the PM in the chair.
RiskyProject vs Epoch SRA: an honest comparison
The closest price class: a standalone scheduler-plus-risk tool vs analysis on the plan you already have.
Do you need schedule risk analysis at all?
Sometimes single dates are enough. Three structural reasons they stop working, and a free test.
Epoch SRA costs €119/month, €990/year, or €1,300 perpetual + €350/year maintenance.
The 7-day trial is full-featured and starts in the add-in: no signup, no card, no sales call.
Start 7-day free trial See pricing